Monday, June 10, 2019

New directors join IASB Board

The Illinois Association of School Boards recently welcomed several new members to its Board of Directors. Marc Tepper, Robert Geddeis, Alva Kreutzer, and Travis Cameron joined the board in May; Lanell Gilbert in June.

Marc Tepper was appointed May 1 as director of the Lake Division to complete the term until division elections in October. At the time of his appointment he was serving as chair of the division and is president of the Kildeer-Countryside CCSD 96 Board of Education.

Robert Geddeis was appointed on May 1 to serve as director of the Kishwaukee Division and fill the term until the division governing meeting, at which an election will take place. He is a school board member at Hononegah CHSD 207, Rockton.

Alva Kreutzer was appointed on May 6 as the director of the North Cook Division, to serve until the division elects a director. At the time of her appointment she was serving as vice chair of the division and is a school board member at THSD 214, Arlington Heights.

Travis Cameron was elected May 7 as director of the Egyptian Division. He is a member of the Bluford CUSD 318 Board of Education.

Lanell Gilbert was elected June 6 as director of the South Cook Division. He is president of the South Holland SD 151 Board of Education.

The five school board members attended their first IASB Board of Directors meeting as division directors on June 8. An orientation session provided an overview of the board’s role and helped the new directors understand the constitutional responsibilities of IASB officers.

The IASB Board of Directors is represented by one director for each of the Association’s 21 geographic divisions, a representative from the IASB Service Associates, and three officers: president, vice president, and past president. The board meets quarterly and is responsible for the governing policies of the Association.

Elected division directors serve a two-year term. A complete listing of the IASB officers and directors is on the IASB website.