Tuesday, February 26, 2019

ISBE: New state superintendent,
board members appointed

The Illinois State Board of Education (ISBE) has announced its new board members and new state superintendent of education, as appointed by Governor J.B. Pritzker.

Carmen Ayala, Ph.D., has been named the state superintendent of education effective March 1. A 30-year educator, Ayala comes to ISBE from the superintendency at Berwyn North SD 98. She has served in administrative roles at Plainfield CCSD 202 and Community Consolidated School District 300; and East Aurora USD 131, where she also taught. She began her career at Chicago Public Schools as a teacher for five years. She served on Governor Pritzker’s education transition team before her appointment. Ayala has participated in IASB events including a presentation on prioritizing equity in-district at the 2018 Equity Event.

The Office of the Governor noted that Ayala is the first woman and first person of color to serve as the permanent superintendent.

“For decades, Dr. Ayala has worked to ensure her students receive a high-quality public education, and I’m thrilled that families across Illinois will now benefit from her leadership,” said Pritzker. “There is nothing more important to the future of our state and our economy than providing a quality public education, and I know that Dr. Ayala will be a strong partner in ensuring students in all of our communities receive the education they deserve. My focus will be continuing to invest in education, even during budget challenges, so that school districts receive the support they deserve, including with the largest-ever increase in early childhood education.”

Darren Reisberg, vice president for strategic initiatives and deputy provost at the University of Chicago, was named by Pritzker as chair of the State Board of Education. Susan Morrison continues on the board and was named chair of the Education Policy Planning Committee. Jane Quinlan is the new chair of the Finance and Audit Committee. Donna Simpson Leak will serve as vice chair of the board, and Cristina Pacione-Zayas as secretary of the board. Rounding out the board are Christine Benson, Cynthia Latimer, David Lett, and Jacqueline Robbins.

Click here for more information from ISBE.