Thursday, November 1, 2018

Sixteen Illinois public schools honored with Blue Ribbon designation

Sixteen public schools in Illinois were recently recognized by the U.S. Department of Education with awards through the National Blue Ribbon Schools program.

The National Blue Ribbon Schools program annually gives these awards to elementary, middle schools, and high schools for academic excellence and improvement in closing the gap between privileged and underprivileged students. Schools can qualify as Blue Ribbon Schools by being rated as “high performing” or “achievement gap closing.”
Since 1982, the National Blue Ribbon Schools program has celebrated
excellence. The award is for effective teaching and learning at all grade levels

All 16 winning schools qualified by scoring in the top 15 percent of schools in the state in reading and math. Every demographic group examined within the school — including lower-income students — also had to collectively score in the top 40 percent.

Eight private schools, which faced similar requirements, were awarded the Blue Ribbon this time, bringing the number of Illinois school winners to 25, the same number as last year.

Here’s the list of the public schools that earned the designation, their category, and the school district where they reside:
  • Central Intermediate School, small city or town in a rural area, Aviston SD 21
  • Butterfield Elementary School, suburban, Lombard SD 44
  • Edison Regional Gifted Center, urban or large central city, Chicago SD 299
  • Evergreen Elementary School, suburban, Benjamin SD 25
  • George Washington Elementary School, suburban, Park Ridge CCSD 64
  • Giant City School, small city or town in a rural area, Giant City CCSD 130
  • Gwendolyn Brooks College Preparatory Academy, urban or large central city, Chicago SD 299
  • Hickory Creek Middle School, suburban, Frankfort CCSD 157-C
  • Hynes Elementary School, suburban, Golf SD 67
  • Libertyville High School, suburban, Community High School District 128 (Vernon Hills)
  • Meridian School, suburban, Aptakisic-Tripp CCSD 102 (Buffalo Grove)
  • Naperville North High School, suburban, Naperville CUSD 203
  • Parkview Elementary School, small city or town in a rural area, Columbia CUSD 4
  • Proviso Math And Science Academy, suburban, Proviso Township High Schools District 209
  • South Park Elementary School, suburban, Deerfield SD 109
  • Tremont Elementary School, suburban, Tremont CUSD 702
Federal education officials will honor these schools among the 300 public and 49 non-public school award winners nationwide at a ceremony November 7 in Washington, D.C. Each school receives an award plaque and a flag as symbols of their accomplishments. In its 36-year history, nearly 9,000 schools in the United States have received the Blue Ribbon Schools award.

More information about the program and the award winners can be found on the program’s official website.