Saturday, October 13, 2018

Nominating Committee
makes IASB officer recommendations

The 2018 Nominating Committee has endorsed a slate of officers, calling for Joanne Osmond, Lake Villa CCSD 41, to be reelected as IASB president, and Thomas Neeley, Morton CUSD 709, as vice president.

Nominations for IASB officers will be voted upon by the Delegate Assembly on Saturday, November 17, at the Joint Annual Conference in Chicago.

Osmond is currently finishing her first term as IASB president. She has represented the Lake Division on the Association Board of Directors since 1996. Osmond began local school board service in 1991, serving on the Antioch Community High School board from 1991 to 1995. Since 1995, she has been a member of the Lake Villa elementary school board.

Neeley has been a member of the Morton CUSD 709 Board of Education since 1989. He has served as IASB vice president since last year, previously served as the Association’s treasurer, and has been on the Board of Directors for more than 10 years, representing the Central Illinois Valley division. He has also been a member of the IASB finance and executive committees.

The nominating committee, which met in August to interview candidates, is chaired by immediate past president Phil Pritzker and includes Directors Bill Alexander, Ann Dingman, Simon Kampwerth, Jr., and Sue McCance. Directors Carla Joiner-Herrod and Mary Stith served as alternates for the committee.

The Association leaders elected by school board delegates will assume office at the close of the 2018 Delegate Assembly meeting on November 17.