Saturday, September 8, 2018

Nominate those serving as
board secretary for Holly Jack Award

2017 Holly Jack winner Clare Bourne received the
award from former IASB Executive Director Roger Eddy.
Time still remains to submit applications for IASB’s 2018 Holly Jack Outstanding Service Award. School districts across the state are encouraged to nominate board or district secretaries who a step beyond expectations to serve the staff, school board, community, and students.

Application forms are available on the IASB website and need to be signed by the superintendent and the board president. Letters of support from individuals, either inside or outside the district, may be submitted with the form, but are limited to no more than five. The deadline for submitting all related nomination materials is September 30. 

Eligible nominees must be district employees (a superintendent’s secretary, superintendent’s administrative assistant, school board recording secretary, etc.) who have performed the duties of the board secretary for a minimum of five years.

The recognition was created to honor the memory of long-time IASB employee Holly Jack, a field services administrative assistant who was instrumental in developing the secretaries’ training offered at the Joint Annual Conference.

The award will be presented in November at the Joint Annual Conference in Chicago during the Administrative Professionals’ Program (formerly titled the Secretaries’ Program).

More information is available by contacting Peggy Goone, ext. 1103; or by email at