Tuesday, August 21, 2018

Nominations sought for 2018 Burroughs Award

The Illinois State Board of Education (ISBE) is now inviting nominations of local board presidents for the Thomas Lay Burroughs Award for the state's outstanding school board president.

The award was created in 1991 in memory of the late ISBE chairman, who was at one time school board president for Collinsville CUSD 10. The Burroughs Award is presented annually at the Joint Annual Conference of the Illinois Association of School Boards, Illinois Association of School Administrators, and Illinois Association of School Business Officials. This year’s Conference will be held November 16-18.

The Burroughs Award is intended to recognize extraordinary leadership on behalf of education at the local level, especially through characteristics similar to those shown by Burroughs. The criteria for this award recognize the following three areas of accomplishment:

  • Leadership on behalf of improved student learning and educational excellence;
  • Leadership on behalf of equal educational opportunities; and
  • Leadership in resolving a crisis or major difficulty.

Nominations can be submitted to ISBE Board Services Coordinator Katherine Galloway, via email at kgallowa@isbe.net, with “Burroughs Nomination” as the subject. The deadline for nominations is October 5, 2018. Click here for complete nomination information.