Saturday, July 14, 2018

IASB accepting nominations
for 2018 secretary award

The late Holly Jack
inspired the award
for board secretaries.
School districts are encouraged to nominate those who perform the work of the board secretary for the Holly Jack Outstanding Service Award. Application forms are available on the IASB website.

Nominees must be local district employees (superintendent’s secretary, superintendent’s administrative assistant, or school board recording secretary) who have performed the duties of a board secretary for a minimum of five years. Qualifications include a passion for work in the field of public education, dedication toward improving the quality of life for others and education in the community, independent problem-solving abilities, constant desire for self-improvement, and innovation and imagination within the work environment.

Application forms must be signed by the board president and superintendent and submitted by Sept. 30. Additional letters of support from individuals may be included with the application, but should be limited to five pages or less. An impartial panel of judges will select the winner who will be honored at the 2018 Joint Annual Conference in November.

Last year’s winner was Clare Bourne of Crystal Lake Elementary District 47, who accepted the award during the opening session of the Administrative Professionals’ Program at the 2017 Joint Annual Conference. Bourne was the ninth recipient of the annual award.

More information is available by contacting Peggy Goone, ext. 1103; or by email at