Friday, May 11, 2018

School board members appointed to state panel charged with reviewing funding formula

The Evidence-Based Funding Model has four key components.
Two appointees who represent school boards will be joining 22 other education leaders on the state Professional Review Panel. Dr. Nakia Hall, school board member of Crete-Monee School District 201-U, and Rhys Fullerlove, board president of Sherrard Community Unit School District 200, were named to the oversight panel by State Superintendent Tony Smith.

The Professional Review Panel was a part of Senate Bill 1947 (PA 100-465), the legislation that created the Evidence-Based Funding Model. Members of the group will be charged with reviewing the implementation and effectiveness of the new funding formula, and making any necessary recommendations to recalibrate the distribution system. They will also advise on future study topics and modifications to the Evidence-Based Model.

The Review Panel’s first meeting will take place on June 26 in Springfield at the Illinois State Board of Education (ISBE) office. A full list of panel members is available on ISBE’s website.