Thursday, March 8, 2018

IASB Board of Directors approves policies, names executive director-select

The IASB Board of Directors held its quarterly meeting on March 2-3 in Chicago to review and approve governance policies, and to select a new executive director to lead the Association beginning later this year.

The board annually reviews its policies that govern the Association and set standards for management and operations — a process the board has been committed to for the past six years. This meeting focused on board and board-member development. IASB Executive Director Roger Eddy presented evidence to support indicators of compliance. The board thanked consultant Angie Peifer for her work helping board members communicate and interpret board policy.

The board voted to approve three new IASB Service Associates recommended by the Service Associates Executive Committee: Nicholas & Associates, Inc. of Mount Prospect; Russell Construction Company, Inc. of Davenport, Iowa; and Computer Information Concepts, Inc. of Greeley, Colorado.

The board also heard reports from Treasurer Linda Eades, 2018 IASB/IASA/IASBO Joint Annual Conference Co-chairs Sheila Nelson and Dennis Inboden, and Illinois High School Association representative Mark Harms. IASB Deputy Executive Director Ben Schwarm also provided a legislative update.

Upon recommendation by the Executive Search Committee, the board voted to authorize the Executive Committee to develop and approve a tentative contract with the new Executive Director-select, Thomas E. Bertrand.

“Dr. Bertrand emerged from a pool of highly qualified candidates. We are excited to have him as our next executive director,” said IASB President Joanne Osmond.

Bertrand thanked the Executive Search Committee for a thorough search process and said he is looking forward to working with the IASB staff and board to further the Association’s commitment to public education.

The Executive Search Committee was co-chaired by IASB Past-President Karen Fisher and Director Sue McCance. Committee members included the following directors: Linda Eades, Carla Joiner-Herrod, Tom Neeley, Joanne Osmond, Phil Pritzker, Michelle Skinlo, and Mary Stith.

The next quarterly meeting of the IASB Board of Directors will be held June 15-16 in Springfield.