Monday, January 8, 2018

Sixteen Illinois schools
join Blue Ribbon ranks

Sixteen public schools in Illinois were recently recognized by the U.S. Department of Education with awards through the National Blue Ribbon Schools program.

Here’s how one winning school chose to celebrate the honor:

Arlington Heights SD 25 created a video, asking students: “How do you feel when you walk into your school?” Their answers made it easy to see why the school was a 2017 National Blue Ribbon School.

The National Blue Ribbon Schools program annually gives awards to elementary, middle schools, and high schools for academic excellence and improvement in closing the gap between privileged and underprivileged students. Schools can qualify as Blue Ribbon Schools by being rated as “high performing” or “achievement gap closing.”

All 16 winning schools qualified by scoring in the top 15 percent of schools in the state in reading and math. Every demographic group examined within the school — including lower-income students — also had to collectively score in the top 40 percent.

Eight private schools, which faced similar requirements, were awarded the Blue Ribbon this time, bringing the number of Illinois school winners to 25. That compares to 21 last year.

Here’s the list of the public schools that earned the designation, their category, and the school district in which they reside:

  • Central Intermediate School, small city or town in a rural area, Central SD 51 (Washington) 
  • Charles J. Caruso Middle School, suburban, Deerfield SD 109 
  • Conrady Junior High School, suburban, North Palos School District 117 (Palos Hills) 
  • Copeland Manor Elementary School, suburban, Libertyville SD 70 
  • Edgar Allan Poe Classical Elementary School, urban or large central city, Chicago SD 299 
  • Hannah G. Solomon Elementary School, urban or large central city, Chicago SD 299 
  • Kipling Elementary School, suburban, Deerfield SD 109 
  • Lemont High School, suburban, Lemont THSD 210 
  • Mary Morgan Elementary School, small city or town in a rural area, Byron CUSD 226 
  • McClure Junior High School, suburban, Western Springs SD 101 
  • Neuqua Valley High School, suburban, Indian Prairie CUSD 204 (Naperville) 
  • Olive-Mary Stitt Elementary School, suburban, Arlington Heights SD 25 
  • Prairie Elementary School, suburban with urban characteristics, Kildeer-Countryside CCSD 96 (Buffalo Grove)
  • Rogers Elementary School, small city or town in a rural area, Waterloo CUSD 5 
  • Romona Elementary School, suburban, Wilmette SD 39 
  • Thomas Dooley Elementary School, suburban, Schaumburg CCSD 54 

Federal education officials honored these schools among the 292 public and 50 non-public school award winners nationwide at a ceremony held Nov. 6-7 in Washington, D.C. Each school received an award plaque and a flag as symbols of their accomplishments. In its 35-year history, more than 8,500 schools in the United States have received the Blue Ribbon Schools award.
    More information about the program and the award winners can be found on the program’s official website