Tuesday, December 5, 2017

Central Illinois Valley
Division has new director

Tim Custis
The Illinois Association of School Boards welcomes Tim Custis of Washington to the Association’s Board of Directors. Custis was seated November 19 on the IASB Board as the representative of the Central Illinois Valley Division. He had served as division Chairman since 1996, and as a member of IASB Service Associates since 2001.

Custis was elected to the Washington SD 52 Board of Education in April. He formerly served as a school board member in two different districts, namely Washington CHSD 308, from 2001 to 2017, including multiple terms as vice president, and Washington SD 50, from 1996 through 2001.

“I am truly honored to represent the Central Illinois Valley Division of the Association on the IASB Board,” Custis said. “I look forward to working with the other directors to benefit the students in our state.”

Custis replaces former division director, Thomas Neeley, who was elected by the Association’s Board as IASB Vice President on November 19 after two years as IASB Treasurer. Neeley has served for 28 years on the Morton CUSD 709 Board of Education.

The IASB Board of Directors is represented by one director for each of the 21 geographic divisions, a representative from the IASB Service Associates, and three officers: president, vice president, and past president. The board meets quarterly and is responsible for the governing policies of the Association.