Saturday, August 5, 2017

Lake Division has new director

Ann Dingman
The Illinois Association of School Boards welcomes Ann Dingman of Grayslake to the Association’s Board of Directors. Dingman was appointed to represent the Lake Division at the May board meeting, and her first meeting as an official member of the board will be Aug. 25-26.

“I'm very honored to represent the Lake Division of IASB,” Dingman said. “I look forward to working with the other directors in order to benefit all students in Illinois.”

Dingman has served on the Grayslake CHSD 127 board since 2004. She has previously served that board as secretary, vice president, and president, and several times on the board negotiations team. In addition, she participated on the SEDOL (Special Education District of Lake County) governing and executive boards for five years.

“I'm interested in providing high-quality educational experiences for all children,” Dingman said, “but am especially passionate about the struggling student, whether due to a disability or any of the other myriad of challenges that today's students face.”

She is not new to governance positions. She has also served the Lake Division as director-at-large, vice chair, and chair. Dingman will remain as director until the division election in the fall, for which she is slated for the position of director. She replaces June Maguire, who retired after 36 years of service to Waukegan CUSD 60.

The IASB Board of Directors is represented by one director for each of the 21 geographic divisions, a representative from the IASB Service Associates, and three officers: president, vice president, and past president. The board meets quarterly and is responsible for the governing policies of the Association.