Tuesday, May 23, 2017

ISBE Briefs

Excel Awards
Nominations are being accepted for the Illinois State Board of Education’s (ISBE) annual Those Who Excel/Illinois Teacher of the Year program. Recognition for seven categories of school leaders are being accepted for the 2017-2018 awards, including: school board member/community volunteer, classroom teacher, school administrator/principal, team, licensed student support personnel, educational service personnel (unlicensed), and early career educator. Those Who Excel nominations are due by June 5, with only one nominee per category, per district permitted. The nomination form is available here.

Fiscal Year 2018 Transportation Reimbursement Claims
The Pupil Transportation Claim Reimbursement System is now open to enter data for the 2016-2017 school year. The annual claims must be submitted by Aug. 15. Instructions for submitting the transportation reimbursement have been posted to the ISBE website.

Changes made to ESSA State Plan
The U.S. Department of Education has requested changes in the Illinois ESSA State Plan, due to “incomplete” measurements of interim progress for academic attainment, graduation rate, and English Learner proficiency.

The original plan submitted by ISBE aimed to develop progress measurements based on three-year baseline data, but that data was not yet available. In order to accommodate the Department of Education’s request, ISBE instead used a 15-year timeline for academic attainment based on PARCC data, graduation rates, and English Learner proficiency on ACCESS. The U.S. Department of Education accepted these qualifications. ISBE has stated that these interim progress measurements will be revisited when three-year averages are available.

Burroughs Award nominations sought 
There is less than a month left to nominate local school board presidents for the Thomas Lay Burroughs Award, which is given annually to the state’s outstanding school board president. The deadline for the Illinois State Board of Education to receive nominations is Oct. 6, 2017.

Created in 1 991 in memory of the late ISBE chairman, the award is presented each November at the Joint Annual Conference of IASB, IASA and IASBO. This year’s conference will be held on Nov. 17-19, and the award will be presented on Sunday, Nov. 19.

The Burroughs Award is intended to recognize extraordinary leadership on behalf of education at the local level. The criteria for the award recognize the following three areas of accomplishment:

Leadership on behalf of improved student learning and educational excellence,
Leadership on behalf of equal educational opportunities, and
Leadership in resolving a crisis or major difficulty.

Leadership is defined by the award criteria as including group skills, such as consensus-building proficiency and teamwork, as well as individual traits such as vision, courage, integrity, etc.

School districts fortunate enough to have a board president who has provided outstanding leadership in one or all of these areas are encouraged to nominate him or her for the 2017 Burroughs Award.  Anyone who has served as president of a local school board in 2017 is eligible for consideration, including those who might have been nominated in prior years.

Nominations should be submitted to Katherine Galloway, via email at: kgallowa@isbe.net. Indicate Burroughs Nomination as the subject. For more information, including award details, and the format for nominations, visit the ISBE website.