Sunday, February 19, 2017

Education leaders gather this week
for Alliance Leadership Summit

The two-day Alliance Leadership Summit kicks off Tuesday morning and offers school board members in Illinois the opportunity to add their voices to the efforts of educational leaders from around the state to develop strategies for public education. The event takes place Feb. 21-22 at the Prairie Capital Convention Center in Springfield, with the opening address at 10 a.m. on Tuesday.
Alliance Leadership Summit

Governor Bruce Rauner will address the Summit at 12:45 p.m., Wednesday,  Feb. 22. In addition, Summit attendees will hear from Illinois Secretary of Education Beth Purvis and State Superintendent Tony Smith.

Additional keynoters include author, speaker, and educator Jim Burgett and Ralph Martire, executive director of the Center for Tax and Budget Accountability.

Presented by the Illinois Association of School Administrators (IASA), Illinois Association of School Business Officials (Illinois ASBO), Illinois Principals Association (IPA), and Illinois Association of School Boards (IASB), the Summit will also feature a panel from the Governor’s School Funding Reform Commission, another panel of political analysts and journalists who cover state government, and legislative meetings and a reception.

PMA Financial Network, Inc./Forecast5, Stifel, and Lifetouch are co-sponsors for the Alliance Leadership Summit.

This will be the second Alliance Leadership Summit. In 2015, more than 600 school board members, school superintendents, principals, school business officials, and other educators heard from guest speakers and panelists on timely public policy issues and prepared for effective advocacy on the issues affecting public schools. Participants received a variety of tools to craft and deliver their messages to lawmakers. Many participants then visited with lawmakers, aides, and other key legislative staff, many working from the new Vision 20/20 initiative.

Registration is open through noon on Monday, February 20. On-site registration also will be accepted.