Friday, December 23, 2016

Buikema replaces Andersen on IASB Board

Chris Buikema
Chris Buikema has been appointed to replace Ben Andersen as director of the Association’s Northwest division.

A 12-year board veteran, Buikema was formerly the legislative chair and resolutions chair for the division. He has been a school board member at East Coloma-Nelson SD 20 for the past four years, and is currently serving as vice president. Buikema previously served eight years on the Nelson SD 8 (Rock Falls) school board, which was part of a two-district consolidation in 2013.

Buikema is also on the board of directors for the Illinois Education Association, serving as Region 20 chair for the teachers’ group. A social studies teacher, he has been employed at Rock Falls High School for the past 17 years, where he also is the head coach of the boys’ golf team. “It’s a genuine honor and pleasure to join the IASB board,” Buikema said.

Ben Andersen
His predecessor on the board, Ben Andersen, has been Director of IASB’s Northwest Division for the past
nine years. A member of the East Dubuque CUSD 119 Board of Education since 1986, he has served as president and vice president, and chaired the board’s buildings and ground committee, as well as serving on its finance, policy, business, and budget panels. As an IASB Director, Andersen had served on the Association’s Nominating Committee, 2008 and 2009; on the Audit Committee, 2010; and the Executive Committee, 2011.

Andersen, a small businessman and entrepreneur, also is a Lion’s Club member and has been active with various community organizations, including serving as president of the Community Mental Health Board of Jo Daviess County.

“I will miss all the dedicated fellow board members and staff at IASB, but I thought it was only fair to let my replacement on our board have a chance to get acclimated to the job of director. I am stepping down from my local board in April after 30 years, at age 66, and am preparing to move to Florida in retirement,” he said.