Saturday, November 26, 2016

Floski wins Burroughs Award
as top school board president

Douglas P. Floski, president of the Byron CUSD 226 Board of Education, was named the winner of the 2016 Thomas Lay Burroughs Award on Nov. 20 at the Third General Session of the IASB/IASA/IASBO Joint Annual Conference.

Illinois State Board of Education (ISBE) member Lula Ford presented the award to Floski.

Floski’s accomplishment on behalf of students, taxpayers, and district staff were highly praised by Ford, including: service as board president since 2011; leadership of a board committee structure for quality review, buildings and grounds, and finance and policy that has enhanced achievement of district initiatives; advancement of communications opportunities with members of the district, including presentations to the Rotary Club, the chamber of commerce, financial forums, and strategic planning groups for buildings and grounds and teaching and learning; leadership of a results-oriented model for decision-making including a five-year financial forecasting model, enrollment-based staffing, and assessment of learning through student achievement information. 

He has also been a consistent advocate for a fair assessment of the Byron Nuclear Generating Station and efforts at advancing an equitable salary and benefits schedule for all district employees.

In his work as board president, Floski has led the achievement of the district in a number of ways:

  • The district recorded its highest ACT scores ever for the graduating classes of 2015 and 2016.
  • The state’s new PARCC (Partnership for Advancement of Readiness for College and Careers) examinations placed Byron CUSD 226 with the 2nd-highest overall achievement among Illinois Districts for 2015 and 2016.
  • The 2016 Illinois Report Card placed Byron CUSD 226 with the highest percentage of 8th-grade students who achieved passing scores for Algebra 1, the highest college-readiness score (based on the percent of students who completed the ACT examination with a score of 21 or greater), and the 2nd-lowest percentage of students who enroll in a community college and require the taking of remedial coursework prior to advancing on their courses of study.
  • Byron received an overall grade of “A,” according to one rating service, ranking the district in the top 7 percent of Illinois school districts overall. Byron was ranked in the top 12 percent for teacher quality, top 9 percent for safety and top 11 percent among schools that are good for athletes. The District received grades of “A-” or better for Academics, Administration, Clubs and Activities, Health and Safety, Resources and Facilities, Sports, and Teachers.

The Byron district is located in the Northwest Division and has a current enrollment of 1,065 students.

“I want to thank all those who serve on school boards, and on our board in particular,” said Floski after accepting the award. “I accept this on behalf of all board presidents, for the role of board president is challenging, as we all know,” he added.

The Burroughs Award, created in 1991, is given annually for extraordinary educational leadership at the local level. Specifically, the award honors the demonstration of extraordinary leadership:

  • on behalf of improved student learning and educational excellence;
  • in resolving a crisis or major difficulty; and
  • on behalf of equal education opportunities. 
Named in memory of the late ISBE chairman who served as school board president at Collinsville CUSD 10, the award honors leadership in the context of a seven-member school board that represents the citizens of a community. The award honors group skills, such as consensus building and teamwork, as well as individual traits such as vision, courage, integrity, etc.

For information about other awards and events at the 2016 Joint Annual Conference, see the Conference Home Page.