Wednesday, September 28, 2016

Upcoming deadlines for district secretary, board president awards

The award is presented
at the Joint Annual Conference.
Holly Jack Award
Created in 2009, the Holly Jack Award honors the memory of longtime IASB administrative assistant Holly Jack.  Applicants must be local district employees (the superintendent’s secretary, superintendent’s administrative assistant, or school board recording secretary) who have performed the duties of a board secretary for a minimum of five years.

Qualifications for the award include a constant desire for self-improvement, passion for public education work, dedication toward improving the quality of life for others and the quality of education in the community, independent problem-solving abilities, and innovation and imagination within the work environment.

The deadline to submit nominations is Friday, Sep. 30. Application forms must be signed by the board president and superintendent. Additional letters of support may be included, but these should be limited to five pages or less. The nomination form and information regarding qualifying criteria is available on the IASB website.

Thomas Lay Burroughs Award
Nominations for the Thomas Lay Burroughs Award for the state’s Outstanding School Board President are due Oct. 7. The award was created in 1991 in memory of the late Illinois State Board of Education  chairman and is presented each November at the Joint Annual Conference in Chicago.

Qualifications for the award include demonstrating leadership skills on behalf of student learning, educational excellence, equal educational opportunities, and in resolving a crisis or addressing a major difficulty.

Email nominations and accompanying materials to Katherine Galloway at with the subject line indicating “Burroughs Nomination.” For nomination information, visit ISBE’s Burroughs’s Award webpage.