Thursday, December 17, 2015

Annual leadership awards presented
at Joint Annual Conference

Award for board secretaries goes to O’Fallon’s Wilkey-Isselhardt
June Wilkey-Isselhardt, executive administrative assistant to the superintendent and board secretary of O’Fallon Community Consolidated School District 90, is the recipient of the seventh annual Holly Jack Award for school district secretaries. The Holly Jack Award recognizes the demanding work of school district and board secretaries. Nominees must demonstrate performance, initiative, innovation, staff development, self-improvement, passion, and dedication. Click here to read more about Wilkey-Isselhardt and the 2015 Holly Jack Outstanding Service Award.

Strategic planning, executive search, goals
highlight Smith's accomplishments
John Smith, president of the Meridian School District 223 Board of Education, was named the winner of the 2015 Thomas Lay Burroughs Award. The Illinois State Board of Education’s (ISBE) John Sanders presented the award to Smith. The Burroughs Award, created in 1991, is given annually for extraordinary educational leadership at the local level. Specifically, the award honors leadership on behalf of improved student learning and educational excellence; in resolving a crisis or major difficulty; and on behalf of equal education opportunities. Click here to read more about Smith and the 2015 Thomas Lay Burroughs Award.

Hackett named Illinois Superintendent of the Year
Judy Hackett, of the Northwest Suburban Special Education Organization (NSSEO), selected as the 2016 Illinois Superintendent of the Year, was honored at the Joint Annual Conference in Chicago. The honoree is chosen annually by the Illinois Association of School Administrators (IASA). IASA President Jane Westerhold introduced Hackett by noting her numerous accomplishments and achievements. Westerhold spoke to Hackett’s ability to create partnerships with other districts to collectively focus on student services. Click here to read more about Hackett and the 2016 Superintendent of the Year Award.

Gurnee administrator honored for leadership
Terrie S. Simmons, school business administrator at Gurnee School District 56, was recognized as this year’s Ronald E. Everett Distinguished Service Award honoree. The award, presented annually by the Illinois Association of School Business Officials, “honors diligence, superior performance and service to the school business public.” Simmons, who is immediate past president of the American School Business Officials (ASBO) International, was honored for her many years of service to Illinois schools. Click here to read more about Simmons and the 2015Ronald E. Everett Distinguished Service Award.

The awards were presented at the 2015 Joint Annual Conference in Chicago.