Wednesday, November 25, 2015

Positions change on IASB Board

The IASB Board of Directors held a reorganizational meeting on Sunday, November 22, and elected a new treasurer and four new members to the executive committee. It was also the final meeting for the past president and one director, who is leaving his local board of education.

Tom Neeley, director of the Central Illinois Valley division, is the new IASB Treasurer, replacing Dale Hansen, who concluded his second term. Neeley has served on the Morton CUSD 709 board of education for 26 years and the IASB Board of Directors for eight years, including service on the finance and executive committees.

Elected to the Executive Committee were directors Roger Pfister (Shawnee Division), Lisa Weitzel (Abe Lincoln), Mark Harms (Corn Belt), and Simon Kampwerth (Starved Rock). They will join new IASB President Phil Pritzker, Vice President Joanne Osmond, Treasurer Neeley, and Past President Karen Fisher. IASB Executive Director Roger Eddy is an ex-officio member.

Attending their final meetings were Past President Carolyne Brooks and Jesse Ruiz, who represents the Chicago CPS 299 Board of Education. Ruiz, who previously served as chairman of the Illinois State Board of Education, has been appointed by Chicago Mayor Rahm Emmanuel as president of the Board of Commissioners for the Chicago Park District.

Brooks, who served two years as IASB Vice President and two years as President, also serves on the Richland County CUSD 1 Board of Education.

The IASB Board of Directors meets quarterly and is the policy-making body for the school board association.