Tuesday, November 24, 2015

Delegate Assembly sets legislative priorities, elects new officers

The 2015 Illinois Association of School Boards Delegate Assembly approved two new resolutions and reaffirmed two existing position statements. Delegates added position statements addressing the hospital charitable tax exemption and the sale of student-constructed homes.

In addition to setting legislative priorities, IASB delegates voted to elect a new president and vice president. Phil Pritzker, who serves on the Wheeling CCSD 21 school board, becomes president and Joanne Osmond, a member of the Lake Villa elementary school board, is the new vice president. Both will serve one-year terms.

Representatives from 371 Illinois school districts considered resolutions on public school issues at the annual Delegate Assembly, held November 21 in Chicago as part of the 2015 Joint Annual Conference.

Click here to read the full report from the 2015 Delegate Assembly