Friday, September 4, 2015

Meet the new members of the IASB Board of Directors

The Illinois Association of School Boards recently welcomed several new members to its Board of Directors. Thomas Ruggio, Mark Christ, and Dennis Inboden joined the board in the spring, while Carla Joiner-Herrod, David Rockwell, and Denis Ryan attended their first meetings as division directors in August.

David Rockwell
David Rockwell represents the Blackhawk Division. He is currently serving his third term with the Rock Island/Milan SD 41 Board of Education. A resident of Rock Island, he is retired from a family-owned furniture store and works in administration at a law firm in Moline. Saying he prides himself on being “informed and open-minded,” Rockwell is looking forward to the challenge of directing the Blackhawk Division.

Thomas Ruggio
Thomas A. Ruggio represents the DuPage Division of IASB. He has served on the Woodridge School District 68 Board of Education for 11 years and is currently president. He is also a member of the cooperative board for the School Association for Special Education in DuPage County. Ruggio is retired from a career in education, in the classroom and in administration. With a particular interest in special education, he says, “It is important to me to take every opportunity to share the strengths, concerns, and needs of the districts I represent while considering current educational issues.”

Denis Ryan
Denis Ryan represents the South Cook Division from Community Consolidated High School District 230, based in Orland Park. He also served on the board at CCSD 146 in Tinley Park. An Orland Park resident, he is a certified insurance counselor and consultant with 30 years of management, marketing, and financial experience. He brings “a common sense approach and will use logical and best practice management to help guide and shape the education of our future generations.”

Mark Christ
Mark Christ represents the Southwestern Division on the IASB Board. He has served on the O'Fallon THSD 203 Board of Education since April 2007 and is currently the vice president. The O’Fallon resident is a senior IT systems analyst.  He said, “I'm honored to represent the Southwest Division and look forward to working with the IASB Board of Directors and IASB staff to improve public education in Illinois.”

Dennis Inboden
Dennis Inboden represents the Wabash Valley Division. He has served as a member of the Robinson CUSD 2 school board for 14 years, including serving as president. A resident of Robinson, he is retired from Marathon Oil Company, where he was a machine shop foreman. He has a particular interest in vocational education. Inboden was “encouraged and inspired” by Roy Midgett, a long-time Wabash Valley Director.

Carla Joiner-Herrod
Carla Joiner-Herrod represents the West Cook Division on the IASB Board of Directors. A Broadview resident, she is a clinically licensed social worker for the Illinois DHS. Joiner-Herrod has been a nine-year member of the Lindop SD 92 school board. She has also served as West Cook director-at-large and resolutions chair. She is “passionate about working for all children, with a special interest in advocating for children with ‘life challenges.’” She plans to “work very hard to continue the great work that the IASB board members have already begun.”

A complete listing of the IASB officers and directors can be found online.