Tuesday, June 30, 2015

Reorganization of ROEs takes effect July 1

Click to enlarge.
Graphic courtesy of IARSS
The number of Regional Offices of Education in Illinois will be reduced from 44 to 35, effective July 1. Public Act 97-0703 from June 2012 reduced the student population minimum for ROEs to 61,000 from 43,000, a move expected to save the state $1.5 million annually.

According to the Illinois Association of Regional Superintendents of Schools (IARSS), the consolidation process included combining staffs and office locations, coordinating programs with local school districts, and shuffling management of some educational programs within the ROEs themselves.

“It is never easy to lose members and change how you serve your districts, but each of these regions and the many counties they serve have done it by putting what’s best for Illinois education first,” said incoming IARSS president Jeff Vose. “We have worked hard to ensure any implications are minimized and ask for our schools’ and the public’s patience as we go through a big transition these next few weeks. We look forward to working within our regions to put into practice our commitment to ‘Safety, Support, and Success’ in classrooms around the state.”

ROEs are responsible for coordinating and delivering state and local services to school districts, as well as providing information and education for teachers, administrators, school districts, and the community. ROEs work with school districts on compliance with state and federal laws and Illinois School Code, oversight of regional safe schools, service for alternative education programs, grant projects, school facility inspection results and compliance, and service to the homeless population. ROEs also assist General Education Development (GED) students and maintain GED records.

The reorganization did not alter every region, but established 13 larger regions from 22 smaller ones. Here is a list of the revamped regions:

  • Whiteside, Lee, and Ogle Counties
  • Marshall, Putnam, and LaSalle Counties
  • Woodford, Mason, and Tazewell Counties
  • Henderson, Mercer, Warren, and Knox Counties
  • Hancock, McDonough, Fulton, and Schuyler Counties
  • Menard and Sangamon Counties
  • Brown, Cass, Morgan, Scott, Adams, and Pike Counties
  • Logan, DeWitt, Livingston, and McLean Counties
  • Jefferson, Clinton, Marion, and Washington Counties
  • Hamilton, Edwards, Gallatin, Hardin, Pope, Saline, Wabash, Wayne, and White Counties
  • Union, Alexander, Pulaski, Jackson, and Perry Counties
  • Johnson, Massac, Franklin, and Williamson Counties
  • Christian, Montgomery, Bond, Effingham, and Fayette Counties