Wednesday, May 20, 2015

IASB Board of Directors makes changes

The IASB Board of Directors made several changes to the Association’s membership structure at its quarterly meeting on May 2.
IASB president Karen Fisher (center)
honors outgoing IASB board members
Jackie Mickley (left) and Val Densmore (right).

There are currently six levels of memberships. Affiliate members include any educational service agency authorized by the School Code other than a local board of education. Examples include special education and vocational education cooperatives, township treasurers in Cook County, charter school governing boards, and the juvenile justice school district.

Beginning July 1, affiliate membership dues will be set at $500 annually, with annual increases equal to the Employer Cost Index. Membership includes eligibility to attend conference and division meetings at member fees, access to appropriate training services and policy services at fees equal to or greater than regular member costs, member publications and participation in sponsored programs. Currently, policy services are made available at double the cost of member fees.

Associate member dues will remain at $30 annually for former school board members. IASB will actively seek to increase associate members by sending them a letter after they leave office. The purpose is to maintain contact and interest with people who actively support public education and local school board service. Associate members receive IASB publications and are eligible to attend conference and division meetings at member fees.

Directors also decided to retain Karen Fisher, per a provision in the IASB Constitution, as president until November. Fisher, a veteran board member in Ottawa THSD 140, lost her re-election bid in April. The move allows Fisher to complete a full one-year term of office as Association president. The office of president and vice president will be decided at the 2015 Delegate Assembly.

Other board members leaving after the past election include: Rob Luttrell (Southwestern division), Frank Mott (West Cook), Tim Blair (Wabash Valley), Rosemary Swanson (DuPage), Jackie Mickley (Blackhawk division), and Val Densmore (South Cook). So far, replacements have been named for DuPage (Thomas Ruggio of Woodridge School District 68), Wabash Valley (Dennis Inboden of Robinson CUSD 2), and Blackhawk (David Rockwell of Rock Island/Milan SD 41). The others will be filled after summer governance or fall division meetings.