Monday, April 20, 2015

Nominees sought for Holly Jack Award

Nominees are being sought for seventh annual Holly Jack board secretary award.

Now is the time for districts to nominate the employee who does the work of the school board secretary for the 2015 Holly Jack Outstanding Service Award.

This award was created to honor the memory of Holly Jack, a long-time employee of the association who served as an IASB Field Services administrative assistant and was instrumental in promoting and developing the secretaries’ program that is offered at the annual conference.

Friday, April 3, 2015

Keynote speakers for 2015 Joint Annual Conference confirmed

Speakers for the General Sessions at the 2015 Joint Annual Conference have been confirmed by the IASB Meetings Management staff.

The First General Session speaker will be DeDe Murcer Moffett, a motivational speaker, author, trainer, comedian, and niece of New York Yankees legend Bobby Murcer. Living life with passion, knowing what you were born to do then doing it full out is her definition and experience of success. Moffet says that today, more than ever, people want authentic leaders who will help them unlock their potential and reduce internal obstacles so their talent can take center stage.

Thursday, April 2, 2015

School districts face growing debt, increased reliance on deficit spending

The Illinois State Board of Education (ISBE) recently released its annual financial profile of public schools through Fiscal Year 2015, and the numbers are trending downward.

Districts are designated by one of four categories. The vast majority, or 553 districts, remain in the top category (Financial Recognition). But the number dropped by seven since last year, while the number of districts in the next category (Financial Review) increased by 18. State school officials said that long-term debt is increasing along with the number of districts that are expected to deficit spend.

Wednesday, April 1, 2015

IASB Board bids farewell to four directors, digs into governance work

The IASB Board of Directors continued to work on revisions to Association governance culture policies, operational expectations, interpretations and evidence indicators at their March 7 quarterly meeting.

The meeting, held in Lisle, was the last one for four directors, including: DuPage division director Rosemary Swanson, Wheaton-Warrenville CUSD 200; West Cook division Director Frank Mott, Forest Park SD 91; Southwestern division director Rob Lutrell, Triad CUSD 2; and Wabash Valley division director Tim Blair, Casey-Westfield CUSD 4C. All four directors did not file to run for their local school board in the April 7 consolidated elections.